GF Oils

Has anyone heard of any research being done to remove gluten from certain oils? Well, I know that wheat germ and maybe even some hydrogenated oils contain gluten.

One may think that oils do not contain gluten. There is however, a possibility that the oil was cross contaminated due to seasoning. Wheat germ oil can also be found in cosmetics, such as lipsticks, lotions, etc…

Now, is there gluten in oils when they’re hydrogenated? This seems to be a big question among the Celiac community. Some individuals seem to think the answer is yes, while others believe the answer is no. I personally would question the flavoring, seasoning, and if it says something to the effect of hydrogenated proteins then, call the company for a definite confirmation of gluten free.

Very odd place to discover gluten, but you never know…

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s