GF Thanksgiving

BarrelsThanksgiving has all the trimmings such as butternut squash soup, mashed potatoes, corn on the cob, sweet potatoe pie topped with marshmallows, cranberry sauce, and of course the turkey. We all know that turkey contains tryptophan, which can make you very sleepy. Most dinner parties will have wine, as the preferred beverage.

Now, if you are a fellow Celiac, do not dive into that glass just yet because, believe it or not, the wine barrels may not be gluten free. Wine is made in barrels, remember that “I Love Lucy” episode. Well, the barrels have glue on them, in order to, remain in tack. That glue can contain gluten, which makes that bottle of wine cross contaminated.

So, you may not be as sleepy as you predicted this holiday season.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s